Land Acknowledgment

Alberta EFP acknowledges that the land we call Alberta, and where Albertan farms reside, is the traditional and ancestral territory of many peoples, presently subject to Treaties 6, 7, and 8. Namely: the Blackfoot Confederacy – Kainai, Piikani, and Siksika – the Cree, Dene, Saulteaux, Nakota Sioux, Stoney Nakoda, and the Tsuu T’ina Nation and the Métis People of Alberta. This includes the Métis Settlements and the Six Regions of the Métis Nation of Alberta within the historical Northwest Metis Homeland. We acknowledge the many First Nations, Métis and Inuit who have lived in and cared for these lands for generations before us.

We are grateful for the traditional Knowledge Keepers and Elders who are still with us today and those who have gone before us. We would not be here without them. We make this acknowledgement as an act of reconciliation and gratitude to those whose territory we reside, farm and live on. While recognizing the historical impacts of settlement on these lands - we wish to express our common goal to care for our water and natural resources for all future generations to share in.